Lonely Alone

3/8/07

The rain whips my face
as I watch him strut
across the vast parking lot.
I know he’s not going to turn
around.
This time,
he’s not returning.

Closing my eyes, I tilt my face
to the sky
and the downpour flows
down my chin,
seeps into my clothes
and rushes through my skin.
I am knocked back to my senses
with a shout:

“Hey,” he says, now halfway inside his car,
his hand
already on the steering wheel,
“if you think crying
is going to make me feel
guilty,
think again.”

Enraged and frustrated
with his ineptness, I scream
back to him,
“I’m not crying!”

“Well, it’s not going to work anymore;
all of your little games.
I tried my best.
But I told you,
it’s over,” he shrieks
above a clap of thunder.

That was it.  Those
Two
Little
Words:
it’s over.
I have heard them
all my life.
“Well,” I call out,
slightly uneasy
and off-balance,
“just once I was hoping
not to be the
Lonely one.”

One thought on “Lonely Alone

  1. Very sad and intense poem,
    I loved it …………….the real world can be hard on us,
    “relationships”we need to learn from them!

    We just keep on going,

    Kind Regard’s
    Laz

Leave a Reply

